My Route to Becoming a Full-Time Freelancer

Jon Clemence
8 min readJul 5, 2022

I’m taking a break from my normal guitar-related content to share a bit of my story. This is how I became a freelance proofreader and editor (a.k.a. my day job). I hope it inspires and motivates you. -Jon

A picture of a fountain pen and a spiral notebook.
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

COVID screwed up my life — in a good way.

In January 2021, I was a quality manager, 15 years into my career. I had spent most of those years working for a large aerospace company, but I had become disillusioned by the insane drive for profits over safety and quality. I left that big company for a small business, thinking that a change of pace would be good for me.

But that’s not what happened.

The small business had its own set of issues. It turns out dysfunction knows no boundaries. So while there was certainly a lot more care about the customer over profits, there was a lack of trust on the part of the owner such that none of us had any real autonomy or say regarding how things worked.

All that aside, it was my internal state that was still broken. I still dreaded Sunday night, because Monday morning was just one bittersweet slumber away.

All that aside, it was my internal state that was still broken. I still dreaded Sunday night, because…

--

--

Jon Clemence

Medium needs more guitar-related content. I. Am. That. Hero!