Toki Pona: My Love Affair with a Made-Up Language

Jon Clemence
7 min readMar 22, 2024
The Toki Pona sitelen (symbol). (Attribute: File: Toki_Pona_flag.svg, Wikipedia, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Toki_Pona_flag.svg)

I occasionally take a break from guitar-related content to share other aspects of my life that I hope you’ll find interesting. Thank you for indulging me this week!

toki! pona tawa sina!

I have always enjoyed learning languages.

In high school, I took Spanish for four years (todavía puedo leer el idioma bastante bien, pero escucharlo o hablarlo es más difícil para mí).

In college and seminary, I spent years learning biblical Greek and Hebrew, and I have weekly Bible translating sessions over Zoom with my former college roommate (we’re currently in Matthew and Esther, respectively).

And of course, since I’m a freelance editor in my day job, you can imagine that I’m pretty darn good at English — good enough to have achieved my dream of becoming a professional nerd, anyway.

So when I came across Toki Pona, it didn’t take long for me to be hooked.

What is Toki Pona?

As the title of this article suggests, Toki Pona is a constructed language.

Canadian linguist Sonja Lang created the language in the early 2000s. She was looking for a way to simplify her thoughts by reducing the complexities of human language and ideas into their simplest forms. As she…

--

--

Jon Clemence

Medium needs more guitar-related content. I. Am. That. Hero!